2021 Meeting Links

Click here to access the registration page.

Click here to open the accommodations page.

Click here to open 'Roadside History of Nevada'

Home > Annual Meeting


June 24th-27th, 2021


In June 2021, the Eriogonum Society Annual Meeting will convene in Elko, Nevada. Elko County is one of the most buckwheat diverse areas outside of California with nearly 70 buckwheat taxa recorded for the county in SEINet. We will visit some of the rare and endemic species on our field trips.

Thursday evening will kick off with a reception at the Northeastern Nevada Museum featuring Basque tapas and drinks and a tour of the buckwheats of eastern Nevada.

We usually have our workshop on Friday but this year to accommodate venue schedules, we will visiting the buckwheats near Mountain City instead. Highlights of this tour include a population of Eriogonum lewisii (a Nevada endemic) and Eriogonum douglasii var. elkoense, which is endemic to the area near our lunch stop, Sunflower Flat. This large meadow complex is also home to Eriogonum caespitosum, E. heracleoides, E. microthecum, E. strictum, and E. umbellatum along with dozens of other wildlfowers and a rare Antennaria and Artemisia. Dinner is provided at Mattie's Taphouse and Grill on Mountain City Highway in Elko.

On Saturday, our half-day workshops will be held in Elko at the Red Lion Hotel, choose either morning or afternoon. We will also be visiting a site on Bullion Road where the endemic Eriogonum kingii grows in light colored outcrops. This species also grows in the alpine areas of the Ruby and East Humboldt Mountains. Our dinner venue will be back at the Northeastern Nevada Museum.

Sunday will take us all the way around the northern half of the Ruby Mountains, through Ruby Valley, over Harrison Pass, and ending in Lamoille Canyon. Despite devastating wildfires in the Ruby Mountains in 2019, there are still some excellent wildflower displays. Lamoille Canyon has many hiking trails from strolls through the aspen stands to strenuous alpine treks.

Please visit this map to see field trip routes and stops.

List from SEINet:

Eriogonum anemophilum
Eriogonum argophyllum
Eriogonum baileyi
Eriogonum brevicaule
Eriogonum caespitosum
Eriogonum cernuum
Eriogonum crosbyae
Eriogonum desertorum
Eriogonum douglasii
Eriogonum elatum
Eriogonum esmeraldense
Eriogonum heracleoides
Eriogonum hookeri
Eriogonum kingii
Eriogonum lewisii
Eriogonum maculatum
Eriogonum microthecum
Eriogonum nidularium
Eriogonum nutans
Eriogonum ovalifolium
Eriogonum palmerianum
Eriogonum panguicense
Eriogonum proliferum
Eriogonum shockleyi
Eriogonum sphaerocephalum
Eriogonum strictum
Eriogonum umbellatum
Eriogonum villiflorum
Eriogonum vimineum
Eriogonum watsonii
Oxytheca dendroidea